ipcoachz's Blog

A journey to health, wellness and gratitude

The Journey of a thousand miles begins with the First Step

Leave a comment

Hi there. My name is Zenovia, and I am an Ideal Protein Weight Loss Coach with Fort Saskatchewan Weight Loss at Zimmerman Chiropractic and Castledowns Chiropractic in Edmonton. .  This is the start of what is going to be the first of many posts that I hope you will enjoy about my journey on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Protocol.  I have uploaded my before and now photographs so you can see the difference.

image

This is my “BEFORE” photo

image

This is me 125lbs lighter

My journey began well over a year ago.  I weighed over 300 lbs.  I was in peri-menopause and gaining weight. I suffered from severe sleep apnea and was constantly exhausted.  I had trouble walking, bending over to tie my shoes and just doing daily tasks.  My blood sugars were high and the Type II Diabetes writing was on the wall.  I suffered from hypothyroid and was constantly cold and tired. My hips, knees and feet  hurt all the time and I had GERD (a  medical term for Acid Reflux) along with a host of other issues not the least of which was depression for which the medication I was on caused….you guessed it, weight gain.  I also had undergone a lumpectomy for early stage suspected breast cancer, one of the risks associated with excess weight. My family doctor told me I had no self control and he was making a referral for bariatric surgery.

I tried many diets over my lifetime and became a “chronic” dieter. I managed to achieve lifetime membership in one program; paid well over $800.00 initial sign up fees to be a lifetime member on another where I still needed to spend $200 per week on food; tried another program that had food delivered to me in packages that when opened smelled and tasted like dog food; went on another program that promised me weight loss if I ate sensibly and took all their herbs and supplements; went on cleanses; joined 3 gyms; went on a weight loss challenge promoted by one of the gyms; used over the counter “protein” meal replacements from drugstores, pharmacies and health food stores; went to a naturopath; tried acupuncture and other holistic treatments; hired a personal trainer at $700 a month and followed their exercise and food regime for 6 months; tried another prepackaged food system…you see the pattern.  Each time, I either lost and regained quickly or as time went on, I gave up as I would barely lose any weight and it was too hard to stay motivated.  I kept a food diary for awhile and I was barely eating some days.  A doctor actually told me I was lying because if I really was eating as little as I was writing down, I would lose weight.  He was wrong and it was completely demoralizing.

In desperation I made an appointment with a doctor my friend had recommended. I sat in his office sobbing.  I told him I didn’t want to get up in the morning but my kids needed me too and that if it weren’t for my kids, I had zero reason to continue living. At that moment for me, life held absolutely no appeal.  I expressed the frustration of living with pain and fatigue.  I will never forget his compassion.  He looked at me kindly and told me that he could and would help me and that in a few months I would not recognize myself.  That was the beginning of my journey to wellness.

He recommended Ideal Protein.  I recall struggling with the financial commitment because I was a single mother who had just started working full time after the end of a marriage and our family needed every penny I made.  I decided that my health was more important and I could always find ways to economize and if I got healthier, there were things I could do to make more money.  I signed up in April then promptly did nothing! I waited to start.  My family doctor told me it would be a waste of my time and money and that he would continue with the referral for bariatric surgery.  It would be another 2 months before I stopped making excuses for why I couldn’t start and finally, at the end of June, I woke up and thought “today is the day!” I had made the decision to go for it.

My first week was amazing as I lost 16 lbs.  Thereafter, I averaged a loss of 5 lbs a week (due to the fact I was so large).  For reference purposes, the average weight loss for women on Ideal Protein is 2 lbs a week,  so my progress was amazing to me.

Around this time I was blessed to be asked to accompany a family member to France in October, all expenses paid. I was excited to see where I would be weight wise.  I began to transition off the diet in September so that I would not be on the program in France (even though travelling with the protocol is very easy).  By October 1, I had lost a total of 65 lbs.  You can imagine my excitement when I got on the plane and didn’t need a seatbelt extender!  I literally cried from sheer happiness. I was still well over 200 lbs but I felt like the slimmest person. I had dropped 65 lbs in 3 months!  It was phenomenal.  I had loads of energy, no pain, and was off of my anti-depressants.  When I saw my family doctor before leaving on the trip, he looked at my lab results, then looked at me and told me to keep doing whatever I was doing.

I returned from France and after spending 3 weeks eating and drinking whatever I wanted (ooo la la French food and wine mmmmm), I was leery of stepping on a scale.  Turns out that resting and healing my pancreas meant that it handled the vacation well.  I only gained 1 lb and still lost body fat.  I was so pumped.  I started back on the protocol in November.

By March, I was down 125 lbs and feeling incredible. I cleaned out my closet, bought new clothes and then became a fanatic about telling people about Ideal Protein.  After a bit of a prolonged sales pitch, I managed to convince the clinic where I was being coached to let me start weight loss coaching the program part time as I am passionate about helping people get healthy.  I now coach full time for Fort Saskatchewan Weight Loss and have never enjoyed something more.

I have also decided to start the program again as I have new goals I want to reach and am ready for the next step.

Over the coming days and weeks, I will be blogging to you about my journey the second time around.  Needless to say, it has been incredible so far and I am excited to share with you my journey and my progress

Until next time…Cheers

Author: ipcoachz

Weight Loss and Lifestyle Coach. My stand is people be well and Live Now

Leave a Reply

