ipcoachz's Blog

A journey to health, wellness and gratitude

Week 3 Is Over

Leave a comment

Wow, what a difficult week.  Everything seemed to be going well and then hit week three.  I am down 2.2 lbs for a total of 17 lbs thus far.  Nothing at all to sneeze about.  It was just a week that had me struggling to stay on track.  I was faced with a number of challenges, including that sneaky demon, mindlessness.

Mindlessness.  The dictionary defines “mindlessness” as: mind·less http://img.tfd.com/m/sound.swf (mndls) adj.

1.

a. Lacking intelligence or good sense; foolish.
b. Having no intelligent purpose, meaning, or direction: mindless violence.
2. Giving or showing little attention or care; heedless: mindless of the dangers.
It would have been so easy to slip into the mindless definition in number 2, if it were not for the screaming conscience in my head. I kept remembering the article I read below.
I was having a week of crazy running around, and there is nothing worse when trying to ensure that you stay on task and focused on healthy eating.  Our modern lives make for situations where it seems we are constantly scrambling to give ourselves healthy and nutritious foods that taste good and can be prepared and eaten in less time than it takes to go to a drive-thru window.  I am here to tell you that it can be done, it just takes a few minutes of planning ahead of time.  This week also taught me some real lessons that needed to be enforced.
Major lesson was the scout motto.  “Always be prepared”.  Thursday, I was not prepared, and ended up not eating for long stretches of the day.  I know better and I know that it is very unhealthy behaviour.  I tell my clients to be prepared, have something in the fridge that is quick and easy.  It really is not good for your body and your blood sugars to go more than 4 hours without eating.  It is important that our bodies can trust us to feed them and give them the nutrition they require when they require it, so that they don’t go into complete storage mode fearing the massive famine that is coming.  I had some major apologizing to myself for my errors.
Again with being prepared, this lesson was never more apparent than on Saturday.  Winter moved into the region with a vengeance.  I needed to be on the other side of the city and the roads were ugly.  In my haste to get out the door, all the best laid plans of mice and men went for naught.  Everything I needed to support my diet was left lying on a counter.  I remembered after I had gone some distance.  There was no way I was turning around.  I had to make do.  I was worried as I was headed first to a pub and pub food is not known for being diet friendly or even for having choices that one could adapt.  Fortunately, this was not the case as it was a bright, newly renovated pub with a menu that rocked.  Greek Salad, chicken and shrimp it was.  Yum.
Next stop, another club.  Now before it looks like all I do is party, this was an unusual weekend where I went to see some friends who have a band play, and then was meeting up with a girlfriend for dinner and some dancing.  It wasn’t often that I had an opportunity to do this so it was a fun day in spite of the roads and weather. I asked my friend if we could go eat at a restaurant before the club and sure enough, there was a steakhouse next door.  A small steak, some mushrooms and cauliflower, and there I was, ready to rock n roll…so to speak.
The rest of the evening passed uneventfully and we had a good time, but were good little Cinderellas, making sure we were home and tucked in by midnight.  There was Sunday to contend with.
Sunday was another day that at least, with the lessons of Saturday behind me, I had prepared in advance for.  I ended up packing my snacks and food and staying on track even though I was not in control of all the food choices set before me.  Sometimes that is a tough one when others are preparing the food and want us to “just have one bite because it won’t hurt you”.  More on that in another post.
Now getting back to lessons learned about making it easy to stay on track. One way of being able to eat well and have healthy food quickly is to have a properly stocked fridge.  Notice I did not include “pantry” in that statement.  One of the things I advocate is not eating food that does not rot.  What that means is that if it doesn’t rot, there is too much stuff in it that is not good for us.  Food should rot.  It is not made to last forever.  Have you ever had a loaf of bread on your counter that did not mold?  If it didn’t, did you not find that strange? Bread is supposed to go bad unless it is full of chemicals and preservatives.  Those same chemicals and preservatives are what go into our bodies and cause illness. You can learn more about healthy food rules here:
I won’t go into an entire list of recipes here, as there are numerous recipe sites on the web.  What I can share is that some things I always have in my fridge and/or freezer are things like:  chicken breasts, lean ground turkey and/or chicken, extra-lean ground beef, fish and eggs.  I also keep assorted vegetables like zucchini, spinach, tomatoes, peppers, onions and mushrooms.  Here was my quick and easy meal on Thursday that tasted awesome and left me enough for dinner the next night.
I scramble fried lean ground chicken in a non-stick frypan without adding any oil.  When it was cooked through I added at least 1-2 t of Indonesian spice (available from Epicure) along with a dash of curry powder, an ice-cube of home-made chicken broth (you can add and adjust your own seasonings for the flavors that you enjoy).  I then took red pepper and mushrooms that I had quickly cut into 1 inch pieces and threw them in on medium high heat until hot yet still crunchy.  Voila, dinner.  That took me a total of 15 minutes to prepare.  Now, is that not healthier and as quick as going through a drive thru?
Until next time, stay on track and BE PREPARED.
Author: ipcoachz

Weight Loss and Lifestyle Coach. My stand is people be well and Live Now

Leave a Reply

