ipcoachz's Blog

A journey to health, wellness and gratitude

Week 5 is Fantastic

Leave a comment

I am so excited as I dropped another 3 lbs. Once you get over the sugar cravings, it just gets easier and easier for me to stick with the program, so to speak. I am now a total of 23 lbs down and, if you look at where I originally started on this journey, I am now 140 lbs down and still counting. The really exciting part is that it truly has been easier than I ever anticipated.

That being said, there are many things that impact our journey and for me right now, I need to make sure that I am eating enough. Being in Ketosis for me makes it too easy not to feel hungry because I have so much energy and feel awesome. This means that in order to take care of myself, I need to set reminders for my meals and snacks. Never really thought I’d see the day when I would not be interested in eating.  Now, I am still human and boy do the wings call out to me in a pub.  But I have such a short time left on this journey that I don’t want to mess it up. Like I tell others, it is short-term pain for long-term gain.  It also is important to know that even though we who have struggled our whole lives have heard this, I have really gotten to the point where nothing tastes as good as I feel and if there is too much sugar in it, I will feel horrible after eating it.

One of the other things that I have learned on this journey is that we need to be sure to not let the people around us sabotage our efforts.  I have gotten a lot of amazing support from my close friends and family and I love and thank each and every one of them for contributing to my success and being my “cheering” squad. What has been a surprise however, has been the comments by other people who are not that close to me.  Things like “haven’t you finished losing yet?  You are wasting away!”  “You need to stop losing weight or you are going to make yourself sick.” “You know, people like a woman with a little meat on her bones, you won’t meet anyone if you get too thin”.  “Oh, Honey, you look so tired and drawn out.  Really you need to stop this and start eating”.

I have to admit, these comments at first bothered me.  They bothered me a lot.  Then I started looking at where they were coming from.  My close friends were supportive.  My family was happy.  Yet this tiny group of people…with their comments and their ‘knowledge’ of how what I was doing was going to make me permanently sick.  You have all heard the “I know a friend who….” stories about something terrible. Some of these same people, surprisingly, are people who were telling me years ago that I needed to lose weight when I was 30 lbs lighter than I am now. Go figure.

These people are diet saboteurs and they are usually telling you these things not because they truly care about your health, but because they are uncomfortable with the fact that you are doing something that they desire, yet do not yet have the commitment to achieve. Below are some tips for eliciting support.

http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/weight-loss-7-ways-to-get-your-familys-support?

Right now, I have another few percentage points in body fat to remove before I hit the “optimum healthy zone”. That’s what matters to me.  I don’t care about the number on the scale as it is not a reflection of my body composition.  I am already thrilled with my clothing size so that doesn’t make me excited anymore.  Right now, my goal is to reach that optimum state of a healthy body fat percentage and lean mass.  Once that is achieved, I am complete.

Losing body fat is not like losing weight.  This is because it is like a mortgage.  When you first start making mortgage payments, it looks like you are having zero impact on your actual mortgage balance it goes down so slowly.  As you continue to make the payments, eventually, more and more of the principle is taken away.  Body fat is just like that.  The closer I get to what I want, the faster the percentage disappears.

I am almost there.  I am hoping that I am only 1 month away from transitioning off.  When I am done, I will have lost 150 lbs which will equal almost half my starting body weight.  I am healthy, my test results show it. I will also, as a coach, never let a dieter lose too much weight.  I know the science and I can make decisions that are in the best interests of my health.  If you are upset about what I am doing, why don’t you join me and see if you can achieve what you desire instead of knocking someone else down.  Live and Let Live and be happy.

 

Healthy-vegetarian-diet

Author: ipcoachz

Weight Loss and Lifestyle Coach. My stand is people be well and Live Now

Leave a Reply

